Any plans for supporting GraphQL via AppSync?

Hey all! Bit of a Ruby on Jets newbie here but really enjoying everything I’m seeing and have gotten my first app up and running. Thank you to @tongueroo (@tung?) and everyone else who has contributed to the project, it’s surprisingly simple AND really powerful for someone coming from a rails background.

I was just curious if there are any plans to build official support for AppSync in an effort to build out GraphQL api’s? I’ve done some digging into the documentation and realize that most everything boils down to core “resource” model so I believe I should be able to build this out as RoJ stands right now. It seems a little more complex than just a simple “Associated Resource” as it requires an AWS::AppSync::GraphAPI resource before I can start to create associated resources.

My thinking is maybe that I create a “Shared” resource that creates the AWS::AppSync::GraphAPI resource - and then create “Associated Resources” for AWS::AppSync::DataSource resources that will call my lambda functions. I probably have a little playing around to do but figured I’d drop in here first and see if anyone has any experience here and/or if there are any plans to build it into the framework in a native manner much like APIGateway at any point.

Cheers!

No plans to add “native” GraphQL support, at least, in the sense being described here.

Some thoughts:

Found that for stateful resources, like a GraphQL data stores, it’s best to keep them out of Jets. Define things that is ok to fully replace with Jets.

The same reasoning would apply for a MySQL database. For example, wouldn’t want a “jets delete” to delete the DB. It’s better to decoupled them.

Other thoughts:

A GraphQL friendlier ruby interface to construct queries and map modeling structures would be a great library. It makes sense as a separate library, like an “ActiveRecord” for GraphQL.

Hope those thoughts help :smile: